10–12 July 2017
Hyatt Regency Atlanta, Atlanta, Georgia

Detailed Program

Daily Agenda

Saturday-Sunday   Monday   Tuesday   Wednesday    

Saturday–Sunday, 8-9 July 2017

0800–1700 hrs  

Course:  Emerging Concepts in High Speed Air-Breathing Propulsion 

0800–1700 hrs   Course: Turbulence Modeling for Modern Industrial CFD 
0800–1700 hrs   Course: Liquid Rocket Engines: Fundamentals, Green Propellants, and Emerging Technologies
0800 - 1700 hrs    Course: Missile Propulsion Design, Development, and System Engineering

Sunday, 9 July 2017

1800-1930 hrs   Student Reception 

Back to Top >

Monday, 10 July 2017

0730–0800 hrs   Speakers' briefing in technical session rooms
0800–0900 hrs   Welcome and  Opening Plenary:  Military Propulsion Needs
  • Rafael Garcia, Director, Propulsion Directorate, Air Force Materiel Command

0845–1600 hrs   Exposition Hall open. Networking Coffee Break 0900 - 0930 hrs. Hall open through lunch
0900–0930 hrs   Networking Coffee Break in the Exposition Hall
0930–1200 hrs   Technical Sessions  
0930–1200 hrs

  Forum 360:  UAS Power Generation and Storage
  • Matthew McCrink, Research Scientist, Aerospace Research Center, The Ohio State University (Moderator)
  • Bill Fredericks, NASA Langley
  • Mike Armstrong, Vision Systems Lead, Rolls-Royce North American Technologies
1200–1330 hrs   Lunch 
1330–1500 hrs   Plenary:  Aircraft PropulsionWhat Does the Future Bring?
  • Mike Benzakein, Assistant Vice President for Aerospace and Aviation, The Ohio State University (Moderator)
  • Stephane Cueille, Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, SAFRAN
  • Eric Ducharme, General Manager, New Product Introduction, Engineering Operations, GE Aviation
  • Paul Stein, Director, Research and Technology, Rolls-Royce Corporation
1500–1530 hrs   Networking Coffee Break in the Exposition Hall 
1530–1800 hrs   Technical Sessions  
1530–1800 hrs

  Forum 360: MRO/Operations
  •  Panelists to be Announced

CASE Session:System Engineering Needs for Future Aerospace and Terrestrial Electrical Power Systems

  • Neil Garrigan, Senior Program Manager, Aerospace Electrification GE Aviation 
  • Matt Hutchison, Vice President of Engineering, Aurora Flight Sciences
  • Marija Ilic, MIT Lincoln Laboratory, Visiting Professor of IDSS
  • John Nairus, Chief Engineer, Power and Control Division Air Force Research Laboratory
  • Eric Walters, President of PCKrause and Associates

1800-1930 hrs   All-Attendee Reception in Exposition Hall 

Back to Top >

Tuesday, 11 July 2017

0730–0800 hrs   Speakers' briefing in technical session rooms
0800-0900 hrs

  Keynote  Plenary: NASA Aeronautics
  • Jaiwon Shin, Associate Administrator, Aeronautics Mission Directorate, NASA 

0845-1600 hrs   Exposition Hall open (Networking Coffee Break 0900-0930 hrs)
0900-1200 hrs   Technical Sessions  
0930-1200 hrs   Forum 360: Future of Electrified Aircraft Propulsion for Commercial Transports: Perspectives and Lessons Learned from Outside Aviation
    • Marty Bradley, Technical Fellow, The Boeing Company (Moderator)

    1200-1300 hrs   Networking Box Lunch in Exposition Hall (ticket required)
    1300–1430 hrs   Plenary: Presidential Transition
    • Mark Lewis, Director, Science and Technology Policy, Institute for Defense Analysis (Moderator)
    • Panelists to to be Announced
    1430–1500 hrs   Networking Break in the Exposition Hall  
    1500–1800 hrs   Technical Sessions 
    1500-1800 hrs

    Forum 360:Transition from Expendable Launch Vehicles to Reusable Hypersonic Platforms

    • David Walker, Director, Office of Technology, Office of Naval Research (Moderator)
    • Thomas Jackson, Senior Scientist, Hypersonics, Aerospace Systems Directorate, Air Force Research Laboratory
    • Brad Tousley, Director, Tactical Technology Office, DARPA
    • Colin Tucker, Military Deputy, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Science, Technology, and Engineering, United States Air Force

    1800-1900 hrs  

    Evening Lecture: with Vigor Yang, Professor, Georgia Institute of Technology

    Back to Top >

    Wednesday, 12 July 2017

    0730–0800 hrs   Speakers' Briefing in session rooms
    0800-0900 hrs   Plenary: Civil Space
    • William Gerstenmaier, Associate Administrator, Human Exploration and Operations, NASA

    0845-1200 hrs   Exposition Hall Open (Networking Coffee Break 0900-0930 hrs)
    0900–1200 hrs   Technical Sessions 
    0930-1200 hrs   Forum 360: Planetary Surface Power
    • Lee Mason, Principal Technologist for Power and Energy Storage, NASA Glenn Research Center (Moderator)
    • Thomas Kerslake, Power Systems Engineer, NASA Glenn Research Center
    • Hoppy Price, Chief Engineer, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
    • Larry Traeger, Director, Advanced Power Systems, Aerojet Rocketdyne

    1200-1330 hrs   Recognition Luncheon (invitation required)
    1330-1500 hrs    Closing Plenary: Space Exploration Propulsion 
    • Julie Van Kleeck, Vice President of Space Programs, Aerojet Rocketdyne (Moderator)
    • Michael Barrett, Acting Chief of the Space Technology Research Office, NASA Glenn Research Center NASA Glenn Research Center
    1500-1800 hrs   Technical Sessions 


     1530-1800 hrs  

    Forum 360:Aerospace Energy Focus

    • Babu Chalamala, Manager, Energy Storage Technology and Systems, Sandia
    • Randall Furnas, Chief, Power Division, Research and Engineering Directorate, NASA Glenn Research Center
    • Neil Garrigan, Executive Manager of Advanced Technology- Systems, Programs and Strategy,General Electric

    Back to Top >


    Dates to Remember

    • Manuscript Deadline: 14 Jun 2017
    • Early Bird Reg Deadline: 19 Jun 2017
    • Cancellation Deadline: 26 Jun 2017

    FAQsContact UsPoliciesMedia